[REVIEW] Undone – Rachel Caine

Rachel Caine
Undone (Outcast Season, Book 1)
Penguin Roc (US & CA: 3rd February 2009)
Buy (US) Buy (UK) Buy (CA)

An Old Djinn becomes what she deems inferior – human – in Rachel Caine’s Undone, the first in the Outcast Season (a spin-off from the author’s Weather Warden series).

After disobeying her leader, Cassiel is cursed into human flesh. Assistant to an Earth Warden, she’s knows her job won’t always be clear sailing, but it’s deadly apparent when two people close to her are murdered, and a third is stolen. With blood magic and aetheric abilities, Cassiel and her companion embark upon a road trip to track down the missing person.

The majority of the novel is up and down, with varying levels of intrigue. But when it finally strikes, it hits hard with the kind of keen plotting sure to lift heads. Keep an eye out for the “shock troops”, and what follows is an absolute cracker of a read.

In true Rachel Caine fashion, though, Undone ends in a cliffhanger, and I don’t know as yet the release date for the sequel, Unknown. I’m guessing circa February 2010, so make sure to read Undone beforehand as it’s easy to become muddled with a series such as this.

3 responses to “[REVIEW] Undone – Rachel Caine

  1. Man, I only just bought the first Weather Warden book! My sister loves the Morganville Vampire books and I’ve seen the WW books around for ages, so I decided it was time for me to try it (and then pass it along for little sis when I’m done). I’ll have to add this one to the pile as well : )

  2. Question: this book obviously takes place in the Weather Warden world. Having read only the first book in the Weather Warden series, should I catch up on that series FIRST before starting this spin-off?

  3. I just started the Weather Warden Series. I am enjoying it. I love the Djinns! I have been told by Weather Warden fans to finish the series before reading Undone. I love other worldly characters.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.