[REVIEW] Hidden – Eve Kenin

Eve Kenin
Hidden (Northern Waste, Book 2)
Dorchester Pub (1st July 2008)
Buy

In 2037 there will be an outbreak (a plague, maybe) that kills a whole lot of people. Don’t say I never warned you.

Excluding the prologue, this novel takes place in 2093. The world is now divided into four parts: the Northern Waste, the Equatorial Band, Africa and the Southern Hemisphere. Born in a laboratory in the icy Northern Waste, Tatiana is now free. But there’s something seriously screwed with her genes, clearly evident when she slices off a bloke’s hand with no weapons other than her own hands.

Once imprisoned, Tatiana seems headed into containment when she’s exposed to a plague – one she may have helped create.

There’s no doubt that the world-building and science are the novel’s best features, and makes me wonder if Liskeard and Gladow Station actually exist. (Forgive my lack of knowledge; I live in the Southern Hemisphere, not the Northern Waste.) But despite all the nanotechnology, Tatiana wishes for the simple things, like again visiting the orange tree in the New Edmonton arboretum.

Unfortunately, I haven’t read the previous Northern Waste novel Driven, which focuses on Raina Bowen, and Tatiana’s brother, Wizard, so I don’t know enough about Duncan Bane and Gavin Ward. I also read chunks of Hidden in front of the TV, thus my concentration wasn’t as strong as it could’ve been. Still, I’d love to read more of this future, and am particularly keen on learning how life in the Equatorial Band, Africa and the Southern Hemisphere differs from that in the Northern Waste. Will we find out? Stay tuned.

7 responses to “[REVIEW] Hidden – Eve Kenin

  1. At least I’m not alone in reading in front of the TV. I read Driven when it first came out, but confess that I don’t remember much of it, but Hidden is on the pile…

  2. I try to keep the TV volume low, but loud enough that I can stick my head up when there’s something interesting on the news. However, it really does mean I pay much less attention to books. I’ve found that reading in bed and in the bath are the best places to read in silence.

    Have a lovely day! πŸ™‚

  3. Ohhhhhh, you have to read Driven! I liked that one so much.

  4. Eve is a friend of mine (always feel I need to post that disclaimer), but Driven was my favorite paranormal romance last year. πŸ™‚ It was just “fresh.” *Just* being a friend, I won’t be able to get my hands on a copy of Hidden until it officially comes out though. 😦
    Lori

  5. I’d love to read Driven, but I can’t afford to buy any books right now, and it doesn’t seem likely that my branch of libraries will get it. Dorchester only publishes in the US and Canada, so the only way it’ll get here is via import – such is Australian life πŸ˜‰

    Have a lovely day! πŸ™‚

  6. Lori – friends don’t get special treatment? Bugger. I haven’t read Driven, so I don’t think I understood everything in Hidden, but you should have no such problem.

    And thanks for stopping by my blog – I didn’t know you were reading it…or maybe you only read when Eve’s mentioned πŸ˜‰ Not a problem – you’re welcome here anytime.

    Have a lovely day! πŸ™‚

  7. Pingback: Babbling Book Reviews » Blog Archive » Review – Hidden by Eve Kenin

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.