Tag Archives: The Meme Plague

13th August 2013 Releases

Happy Release Day to:

Kim Harrison
The Hollows Insider (The Hollows, Companion)
HarperCollins Voyager (US & CA: 13th August 2013)
Buy (US) Buy (UK) Buy (CA) Buy (Worldwide)

In the Hollows, the supernatural Inderlander rule, and humanity must abide by their conventions, or else. To survive among vampires, witches, Weres, gargoyles, trolls, fairies, and banshees – to say nothing of demons – humanity needs a guide. And now here is an insider’s look at the supernatural world of the Hollows, from an overarching new story to character profiles, maps, spell guides, charm recipes, secret correspondence from elusive Trent Kalamack, and much more. One misfired spell that burned off his hair is all it took to send investigative reporter Devin Crossman on a mission to uncover all the secrets of Rachel Morgan and expose them to the world. Collected here are all his notebook entries and a treasure trove of evidence, including maps, species profiles, magic spells, documents from Inderland Security, Takata’s song lyrics, Betty Bob’s recipes, Ley Line Charms, entries from the Were Registry, articles from The Hollows Gazette, and many more documents that cast light into regions of the Hollows that have never been revealed. But Crossman’s one-man war has not gone unnoticed…

Colleen Hoover
This Girl (Slammed, Book 3)
Simon & Schuster Atria (US, CA & AU: 13th August 2013)
Buy (US) Buy (UK) Buy (CA) Buy (Worldwide)

Layken and Will’s love has managed to withstand the toughest of circumstances, and the young lovers, now married, are beginning to feel safe and secure in their union. As much as Layken relishes their new life together, she finds herself wanting to know everything there is to know about her husband; even though Will makes it clear he prefers to keep the painful memories of the past where they belong. Still, he can’t resist his wife’s pleas, and so he begins to untangle his side of the story, revealing for the first time his most intimate feelings and thoughts, retelling both the good and bad moments, and sharing a few shocking confessions of his own from the time when they first met.

Jackson Pearce
Purity
Hachette Little, Brown (US: 13th August 2013)
Buy (US) Buy (UK) Buy (CA) Buy (Worldwide)

Before her mother died, Shelby promised three things: to listen to her father, to love as much as possible, and to live without restraint. Those Promises become harder to keep when Shelby’s father joins the planning committee for the Princess Ball, an annual dance that ends with a ceremonial vow to live pure lives – in other words, no “bad behaviour,” no breaking the rules, and definitely no sex. Torn between Promises One and Three, Shelby makes a decision – to exploit a loophole and lose her virginity before taking the vow. But somewhere between failed hook-up attempts and helping her dad plan the ball, Shelby starts to understand what her mother really meant, what her father really needs, and who really has the right to her purity.

Susan Beth Pfeffer
The Shade of the Moon (Life As We Knew It, Book 4)
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt (US: 13th August 2013)
Buy (US) Buy (UK) Buy (CA) Buy (Worldwide)

It’s been more than two years since Jon Evans and his family left Pennsylvania, hoping to find a safe place to live, yet Jon remains haunted by the deaths of those he loved. His prowess on a soccer field has guaranteed him a home in a well-protected enclave. But Jon is painfully aware that a missed goal, a careless word, even falling in love, can put his life and the lives of his mother, his sister Miranda, and her husband, Alex, in jeopardy. Can Jon risk doing what is right in a world gone so terribly wrong?

Angie Smibert
The Meme Plague (Memento Nora, Book 3)
Amazon Skyscape (US & UK: 13th August 2013)
Buy (US) Buy (UK) Buy (CA) Buy (Worldwide)

Micah and Nora piece their memories together as Aiden, Velvet, and Winter continue the work of the MemeCast. The teens all band together to get the word out about the new ID chips – and how the government and TFC are using the chips to manipulate the public remotely.

August 2013 Releases

Done with July 2013 Releases? Here are August 2013 Releases. For future releases, check Reading Wishlist.

Continue reading

Now Available for US Pre-Order

Ann Aguirre: FORBIDDEN FRUIT: 8th May 2013: Buy (US)
Julianna Baggott: BURN: 4th February 2014: Buy (US)
Megan Crewe: THE LIVES WE LOST (paperback): 7th January 2014: Buy (US)
Megan Crewe: THE WORLDS WE MAKE: 11th February 2014: Buy (US)
Rhiannon Held: REFLECTED: 18th February 2014: Buy (US)
Melissa Landers: ALIENATED: 4th February 2013: Buy (US)
Karen Mahoney: HUNTING THE DARK: 6th February 2014: Buy (UK)
Mary E. Pearson: FOX FOREVER (paperback): 18th February 2014: Buy (US)
Jennifer Rush: ERASED: 7th January 2014: Buy (US)
Kristen Simmons: BREAKING POINT (paperback): 7th January 2014: Buy (US)
Kristen Simmons: THREE: 11th February 2014: Buy (US)
Angie Smibert: THE MEME PLAGUE (paperback): 13th August 2013: Buy (US)
Amanda Sun: SHADOW: 1st June 2013): Buy (US)
Carol Lynch Williams: THE HAVEN: 4th March 2014: Buy (US)

Now Available for US Pre-Order

Jessica Brody: UNREMEMBERED (paperback): 28th January 2014: Buy (US)
Rachel Caine: PRINCE OF SHADOWS: 4th February 2014: Buy (US)
Carolyn Crane: AGAINST THE DARK: 17th April 2013: Buy (US)
Lauren DeStefano: PERFECT RUIN has been moved up (yay!) to 1st October 2013: Buy (US)
Kat Falls: INHUMAN has been moved up (yay!) to 24th September 2013: Buy (US)
Jeff Hirsch: MAGISTERIUM (paperback) has been moved up (yay!) to 27th August 2013: Buy (US)
Jeff Hirsch: THE DARKEST PATH has been moved up (yay!) to 24th September 2013: Buy (US)
Katie McGarry: DARE YOU TO (paperback): 29th October 2013: Buy (US)
Katie McGarry: CRASH INTO YOU: 26th November 2013: Buy (US)
Marissa Meyer: CRESS: 4th February 2014: Buy (US)
Saundra Mitchell: MISTWALKER: 4th February 2014: Buy (US)
Tara Moss: THE COBRA QUEEN:27th December 2013: Buy (AU)
Angie Smibert: THE MEME PLAGUE: 13th August 2013: Buy (US)
Lila Veen: BURNING FOR YOU: 3rd April 2013: Buy (US)

4 New Covers (Graves, Rush, Smibert, Wiggins)

Continue reading

7 New Deals (Barnes, Grant, Johnson, Meding, Parker, Smibert, Slaughter)

Jennifer Lynn Barnes‘s new thriller series in a 2-book deal to Hyperion (US) & Quercus (UK). Begins with The Naturals, pitched as a YA version of Criminal Minds where 3 teens are recruited to work as profilers for the FBI to stop a serial killer.

Mira Grant‘s Parasitology & Symbiogenesis (a duology of science fiction medical thrillers in the tradition of Frankenstein & Jurassic Park, in which parasites intended to bolster human immune systems rebel against their hosts), along with 3 novellas set in the universe of the Newsflesh series, to Orbit (World English).

Alaya Dawn Johnson‘s The Summer Prince (2013) in a 2-book deal to Arthur A. Levine Books. Set in a utopian city on the lush coast of a futuristic Brazil, a coming-of-age story about a rebellious young artist & her unlikely friendship with the city’s “summer king”, who is destined to be sacrificed after 1 year of rule, as together they spark a revolution that threatens to overturn the entire city.

Kelly Meding‘s next 2 books in the MetaWars superhero urban fantasy series to Pocket Star, for publication in 2013.

Amy Christine Parker‘s The Silo (2013) in a 2-book deal to Random House (World Rights). Teenaged Lyla has been living in a religious cult after her sister’s disappearance. While her parents are hopelessly under the sway of the group’s leader, Pioneer, Lyla is drawn into a dangerous situation when she begins to question Pioneer’s prophecy about the impending apocalypse.

Angie Smibert‘s The Meme Plague (2013), to Marshall Cavendish (World). The last title in the Memento Nora trilogy, wherein a group of teens fight to expose the truth about the city’s mandatory ID program & the ID chips’ ability to implant false memories.

*****
TV DEAL

Rights to Karin Slaughter‘s Grant County series sold. To go into development immediately, with the author co-writing the pilot script. Tez Says: Lena Adams is a plum role – not the lead character, but the one with all the fascinating, screwed-up plotlines.