Heartless – Marissa Meyer

Marissa Meyer
Heartless
Macmillan (US & AU: 8th November 2016; UK: 9th February 2017)
Buy (US Kindle Edition) Buy (US Hardcover) Buy (UK Kindle Edition) Buy (UK Paperback) Buy (CA Kindle Edition) Buy (CA Hardcover) Buy (Worldwide Hardcover) Buy (Worldwide Paperback)

It’s Thursday 8th December, the day I’m due to post a review for Marissa Meyer’s Heartless. I was unsure I could review in time, but the Australian publisher mailed the copy ASAP, and I started reading it on November 5th.

Even with an entire month to read it, at the time of writing I have not progressed past page 15 (of the 453-page ARC). The Internet isn’t entirely to blame for my distraction. And there’s nothing terrible about the book, though I’m not really interested in the source material and I find talking animals weird in fiction. The novel begins with the makings of delicious-sounding lemon tarts, and there’s likely more wonderful food to follow.

It’s not a bad book. I just find it far too easy to put down. We’re probably not well suited, but perhaps you’ll fare better with Heartless than I have thus far.

Leave a Reply

