[GUEST BLOGGER] Erica Spindler on Self-Publishing Her New Series

This guest post is part of the official blog tour for Erica Spindler’s The Final Seven. Below, you’ll find the author’s links, information about her books, as well as the guest post. TEZ’S NOTE: While the book is self-published in US/Canada, Hachette is publishing it in UK/Australia. Check your favourite local bookseller for details.

Erica Spindler
Mailing List
Facebook
Twitter
Goodreads
Pinterest

TEZ’S REVIEWS
Shocking Pink
Fortune
The First Wife

ERICA SPINDLER ON SELF-PUBLISHING HER NEW SERIES

Thank you, Tez, for inviting me on your blog. I’m a fan, so I’m doubly excited. You asked if I could discuss why I decided to independently publish my new series, The Lightkeepers. It’s a great question – you’re the first to ask it, btw – because I’ve been traditionally published for such a long time. (And still am traditionally publishing, both in the U.S. and across the globe.)

Like all important, potentially life-altering decisions, it’s complicated but I’ll attempt to pull together all the threads.

The Lightkeepers is a project I’ve wanted to write for a long time – working on it between other contracted projects, the storyline and characters coalescing as I did. The more I worked on it, the more excited I became and the more determined to bring the series to life. After completing The First Wife, I gave myself permission to take the time to finish The Final Seven. As an author you know when something’s right: by the way it comes alive, the way it feels, there’s an undeniable excitement, this feeling of “Yes!” as you’re writing.

That happened while writing The Final Seven. As an author who’s made her career by following her muse, I was committed to writing the series. So here’s the question: What does an author do when there’s something she really wants – feels she needs – to write, but it’s not what her publisher wants from her? You see, The Final Seven is a thriller, it’s my trademark fast-paced-Spindler-style, but it’s a paranormal thriller.

In the days of publishing past, the author could have abandoned the project; shopped it around with the hope that she wouldn’t have to lobotomize it to make the sale; if she made the sale, she very well could have had to change the title, the series name, maybe add sex, remove the F-word, change the theme, and basically give up creative control of everything from the cover, to the on-sale date, price and marketing.

But it’s not the old days of publishing anymore. The rise of eBooks, Amazon and self-publishing has turned the entire book industry upside down. Why not give indie publishing a try? I saw lots of authors not only doing it, but having amazing success. The Lightkeepers seemed like the perfect opportunity for me to dip my toe in: I had a new series in a new genre; I really, really didn’t want to give up creative control – let alone have my baby lobotomized – I could hire editors and marketers and everyone else I needed to make the books worthy of my readers.

The choice has come with some adjustments. Things like just how much time and energy all that creative control takes and shifting my marketing focus from the print edition to the eBook. But I’m happy with my decision and excited to see where it takes me and my stories!

So, there you have it, Erica’s Big Adventure. I hope you’ll give The Final Seven a try. For more about me or my books visit ericaspindler.com or come get social with me on Facebook at EricaSpindler/author or @ericaspindler on twitter.

Erica Spindler
The Final Seven (The Lightkeepers, Book 1)
Erica Spindler Books (US: 11th February 2016); Hachette Little, Brown Sphere (AU: 9th February 2016; UK: 11th February 2016)
Buy (US Kindle Edition) Buy (US MP3 CD) Buy (UK Kindle Edition) Buy (UK Hardcover) Buy (UK Paperback) Buy (CA Kindle Edition) Buy (CA MP3 CD) Buy (Worldwide Hardcover) Buy (Worldwide Paperback)

New Orleans Detective Micki Dee Dare is a seasoned, no-nonsense cop. She doesn’t need a partner, especially not Zach “Hollywood” Harris, an irreverent charmer, fresh out of an experimental FBI program. And her assignment – keep him alive while he fights crime using the special skills he brings to the table – is not what she signed up for. But the die has been cast and there’s nothing she can do about it. Micki soon realizes there’s more to her partner than meets the eye – and more at stake than catching bad guys and closing cases. There’s a new kind of evil at work the Crescent City, more cunning, more powerful than any she’s ever encountered. And she and Zach may be the only ones who can stop it. As another co-ed goes missing and the darkness closes in, Micki must face a terrifying truth: this time she might not make it. This time the evil they’re facing might destroy them all…

3 responses to “[GUEST BLOGGER] Erica Spindler on Self-Publishing Her New Series

  1. Pingback: Guest Blog: Erica Spindler on Self-Publishing Her Series | Illuminite Caliginosus

  2. Erica .thank you for clearing that up . I’ve been reading your books for some time and love them

  3. I’m totally enjoying this book. I’m torn between wanting to read it all in one sitting or taking my time, savor it and prolong my enjoyment. I’m prolonging it because when I love a story, the genre and the characters, it’s just best to do that. I’m glad you chose to indy publish this, it’s a smart move.

Leave a Reply

