Why I DNFd Maggie Shayne’s SLEEP WITH THE LIGHTS ON

Hadn’t read the author’s books in years. I liked her thrillers, but not the vampire books. Sleep with the Lights On was available from NetGalley and Edelweiss. Paranormal romantic suspense, hunting a serial killer. So far so good, right?

Context: Rachel de Luca goes blind aged twelve, due to a cornea problem. Since then, she’s become a self-help bestselling author. Inspirational, right?

Only Rachel thinks it’s “pathetic” that her readers actually believe her wisdom, and that they live their lives by it. Remind you of anything?

*Image from here.

I narrowed my eyebrows at that, but moved on.

Rachel receives a corneal transplant, and she can suddenly see again. What profound things will she say about what she sees?

And then I looked at Doc. And blinked. “You’re ASIAN?” I burst out

She broke into laughter, wiping tears from her cheeks.

“Well, you could have told me! What the hell kind of Asian is named Fenway?”

“A married one.”

That’s in Chapter 3, page 69 of the Australian mass market paperback.

I closed the book immediately, and dumped it on my floor to return to the library shortly. I’m white. I’ve never had periods of blindness, so I don’t know what I’d say when I got my sight back. But I seriously doubt it would have nothing to do with my doctor’s ethnicity. As long as they’re fully licenced, I don’t care if my doctor is white or Asian or whatever.

Harlequin Mira, why did you let that part be published? An author may say STET, but you should fully explain to them why that would not be in their best interests. It sounds kind of racist to me…

Leave a Reply

