[REVIEW] Heaven – Christoph Marzi

Christoph Marzi [translated from the original German into English by Helena Ragg-Kirkby]
Heaven [originally published as Heaven: Stadt der Feen]
Hachette (UK: 2nd February 2012; AU: 14th February 2012)
Buy (US) Buy (UK) Buy (CA) Buy (Worldwide)

Sometimes one comes across books by happenstance.

I spotted Christoph Marzi’s Memory in Hachette Australia’s teen newsletter. Liked the cover, liked the summary, and decided to look up the author. My consortium of libraries only had Heaven, a stand-alone.

It’s that very odd kind of novel, with a concept I wasn’t sure I’d like, but it completely won me over. Christoph Marzi is the missing link between J. K. Rowling and Holly Black, and Heaven is truly an urban fairy tale. From the rooftops of Kensington, to Little Venice, to the Millennium Eye, Marzi’s chilly but charming London is peopled with enchanting lead characters. And this novel goes to show that the best romances aren’t in romance novels at all – I adored David and Freema, and wanted them together.

The concept: Freema’s heart is sliced out and stolen. Yet she still lives and breathes. How? Read on…

2 responses to “[REVIEW] Heaven – Christoph Marzi

  1. Oooh, you have made me curious. I’d not heard of this I don’t think, but I love fairy tales and this sounds rather gritty. Also, good romance? I am there. I agree with you about the best ones not being in romance. I think a little goes a long way, so them banging constantly isn’t the swooniest possibility.

    • Unfortunately for you, I don’t think the US has bought rights to it, so you’ll have to import from the UK. I wasn’t sure this would be my thing, but it was just so charming 🙂

Leave a Reply

