[GUEST BLOG] Alex Hughes on Storylines

This is a stop on the Sharp Blog Tour. Here you will find a guest post by Alex Hughes, and information on her books.

STORYLINES
A guest blog post by Alex Hughes

Tez asks, “What storylines have you not written about yet but would like to try?”

Here are ten things I’d like to try (in no particular order):

1. I’d love to write an action movie. In my wild fantasies this is a literal screenplay, but in reality maybe a really lovely tightly written book in the tradition of Phone Booth or Lethal Weapon. Or, for bonus points do a “summer blockbuster”-type book like Independence Day – you have the world-in-peril, the down on his luck geek, the hero to save the guy, the guy who sacrifices, a romance to cheer for, and the dog to root for. Yes, I’d love to do that.

2. I want to write a book in which a prisoner escapes and wreaks revenge on his scheming captors, i.e., The Count of Monte Cristo. For kicks and giggles, this character might end up female in a far-off space world, but will definitely still involve swords and swashbuckling. I don’t think there’s enough swords and swashbuckling anymore.

3. One of these days I will write a romance, a for-real interesting, complex romance with flawed characters who are perfect for one another. This one is far less likely to be successful than the escaped-prisoner story, but I’ve never done a good one and I’d like to try.

4. While I’m scheming, let’s say time travel a la A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur’s Court. Pick an unlikely hero and put him in an interesting situation in the past. My history degree will get used!

5. A real, honest to goodness psychological thriller in which the main character goes slowly crazy, kills someone, and the unexpected ensues. We might plum the tradition of Edgar Allan Poe for madness and suspense ideas.

6. I’d also love to write one of those clever stories in which many differing characters get locked in a room and pressure is applied until the unthinkable happens. This was done well in Dr. Who. Add paranormal elements for extra pressure, a la House on Haunted Hill.

7. I think it would be fun to write a straight contemporary mystery or crime novel without the need for paranormal elements.

8. We need more novels with unlikely heroes and heroines. I’d love to do a novel intended for adults with a young hero, let’s say eight years old, in which the young hero saves everyone from legitimate danger. Or an old lady at seventy-plus who outsmarts an athletic twenty-something villain. Or a wheelchair-bound person who is uniquely qualified for zero-G and solves a problem no one else can.

9. I love cultures and sociological science fiction. I’d love to design an alien race that lives and thinks differently than we do…and have the differences in translation cause major problems. This could also be done with paranormal elements and trolls, faeries, etc. and be just as fun in a different way.

10. As impossible a challenge as it is, I’d love to do a really funny comic-toned book in which deep and important things happen. While you’re laughing uncontrollably. In an alternate universe. With life-and-death stakes. Did I mention you’re laughing?

Awesome exercise, Tez – I got all sorts of new story ideas out of it!

Can I ask a favour, dear readers? Which (if any) of the ideas appeals to you? Let me know in the comments section!

Tez Says: I vote for the psychological thriller, or the locked room unthinkable.

Alex Hughes
Clean (Mindspace Investigations, Book 1)
Penguin Roc (US: 4th September 2012)
Buy (US) Buy (UK) Buy (CA) Buy (Worldwide)

I used to work for the Telepath’s Guild before they kicked me out for a drug habit that wasn’t entirely my fault. Now I work for the cops, helping Homicide Detective Isabella Cherabino put killers behind bars. My ability to get inside the twisted minds of suspects makes me the best interrogator in the department. But the normals keep me on a short leash. When the Tech Wars ripped the world apart, the Guild stepped up to save it. But they had to get scary to do it – real scary. Now the cops don’t trust the telepaths, the Guild doesn’t trust me, a serial killer is stalking the city – and I’m aching for a fix. But I need to solve this case. Fast. I’ve just had a vision of the future: I’m the next to die.

Alex Hughes
Payoff (Mindspace Investigations, Book 1.5)
Penguin Roc (US: 5th March 2013)
Buy (US) Buy (UK) Buy (CA)

Being a telepath, I should have seen the hell I was getting myself into… I used to be one of the most powerful telepaths in the guild. That was before my drug addiction and before they kicked me out. But I’m not a bad guy. Now I help the Atlanta PD solve murders. And even though there are only a few people I call friends, I’d do most anything to keep their trust. So when a judge asks me to help investigate a missing college kid, I’m down for it. No questions asked. No problem. But in this dark world, things are never easy and a favour is never just a favour. Turns out, politicians don’t like being murder suspects. And it’s bad to anger someone with more power than you. I thought I had nothing to lose… I was wrong.

Alex Hughes
Sharp (Mindspace Investigations, Book 2)
Penguin Roc (US: 2nd April 2013)
Buy (US) Buy (UK) Buy (CA) Buy (Worldwide)

As a Level Eight telepath, I am the best police interrogator in the department. But I’m not a cop – I never will be – and my only friend on the force, Homicide Detective Isabella Cherabino, is avoiding me because of a telepathic link I created by accident. And I might not even be an interrogator for much longer. Our boss says unless I pull out a miracle, I’ll be gone before Christmas. I need this job, damn it. It’s the only thing keeping me sane. Parts for illegal Tech – the same parts used to bring the world to its knees in the Tech Wars sixty years ago – are being hijacked all over the city. Plus Cherbino’s longtime nemesis, a cop killer, has resurfaced with a vengeance. If I can stay alive long enough, I just might be able to prove my worth, once and for all…

Author photo from AHughesWriter.com

Website
Blog
Facebook
Twitter
Goodreads

Advertisements

2 responses to “[GUEST BLOG] Alex Hughes on Storylines

  1. Pingback: | Alex Hughes - Author of CLEAN

  2. These would be interesting things to try

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s