Tez Apologises

Tez Apologises

I was a bitch. I was so caught up in the big picture that I forgot about the details. I thought I was doing the right thing by keeping names out of it.

I didn’t think hard enough.

Here are the reasons I suck in this particular event:

-I commented on someone’s (not The Author) photo on Facebook.
-I linked to the screen-caps of the deleted blog post.
-The Author made a comment, and I screen-capped it.
-I then shared the screen-cap with Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, WordPress…probably LiveJournal, too.
-I then typed the text of that comment for those whose computers wouldn’t display the screenshot.

I was a bitch, because I didn’t even stop to consider that the person (not The Author) wouldn’t have wanted a comment, even though she didn’t write it, on her Facebook being shared around like that. She was – and is – an innocent party.

I am not innocent. I’d forgotten that her Facebook wasn’t public. I assumed it was, and didn’t check. Because I was selfish. Because I was stuck on a crusade, and didn’t stop to consider that even though I wasn’t quoting her, I had quoted something that had happened in her private space. I had taken something private, and made it public. And until she requested I remove the screen-cap and text, I hadn’t even stopped to consider that I had breached her confidence and her trust.

I don’t blame anyone other than myself. It was my fault. I’m the guilty one. I have to retrain my brain to think about all the details, and not just the big picture. I have to retrain my brain to think about PEOPLE. Because innocent bystanders are people, too. And they don’t deserve to be part of my crusade if they don’t want to. They have a choice, and I took away that choice.

I was wrong. I was selfish. I was a bitch.

I AM wrong. I AM selfish. I AM a bitch.

And, whether you believe it or not – I truly am sorry. Not “sorry you gave me your trust”, but PROPERLY sorry – sorry I took her trust and used it for my own nefarious purposes.

I understand I may have lost a friend, or at the very least an associate, over all this. I expect it.

I’ve taken the screen-cap link off my blog post. I’m leaving the text, because for all anyone knows I may have made it up.

Yeah, I hear you. You’re thinking if I’m so sorry I should delete the screen-cap and text from all facets of the Internet, and all facets of my hard drive. I’m keeping them to serve as a reminder to myself. I do need reminders to keep my ego in check.

And because what’s done is done. I’m not going to pretend that I never did these things.

You know where to send hate-mail.

8 responses to “Tez Apologises

  1. Now this is an apology. Good for you.

  2. No hate mail here. It takes a big person to own up to a mistake. In my book that deserves respect. Hopefully the person whose screencap you shared understands that we all make mistakes and you don’t lose a friend or an associate.

  3. Everyone screws up sooner or later. It’s how you handle the aftermath that matters. So kudos to you for owning that you boobed and going public with an apology. And hugs… coz everyone needs a hug when they screw up.

  4. Crap! What did you do? This is why I try to stay away from Facebook when I’m drunk. 🙂

  5. You are absolutely not a bitch. It takes a lot of strength to be able to apologise for something. No hate mail from here.

Leave a Reply

