7 New Deals (Barnes, Grant, Johnson, Meding, Parker, Smibert, Slaughter)

Jennifer Lynn Barnes‘s new thriller series in a 2-book deal to Hyperion (US) & Quercus (UK). Begins with The Naturals, pitched as a YA version of Criminal Minds where 3 teens are recruited to work as profilers for the FBI to stop a serial killer.

Mira Grant‘s Parasitology & Symbiogenesis (a duology of science fiction medical thrillers in the tradition of Frankenstein & Jurassic Park, in which parasites intended to bolster human immune systems rebel against their hosts), along with 3 novellas set in the universe of the Newsflesh series, to Orbit (World English).

Alaya Dawn Johnson‘s The Summer Prince (2013) in a 2-book deal to Arthur A. Levine Books. Set in a utopian city on the lush coast of a futuristic Brazil, a coming-of-age story about a rebellious young artist & her unlikely friendship with the city’s “summer king”, who is destined to be sacrificed after 1 year of rule, as together they spark a revolution that threatens to overturn the entire city.

Kelly Meding‘s next 2 books in the MetaWars superhero urban fantasy series to Pocket Star, for publication in 2013.

Amy Christine Parker‘s The Silo (2013) in a 2-book deal to Random House (World Rights). Teenaged Lyla has been living in a religious cult after her sister’s disappearance. While her parents are hopelessly under the sway of the group’s leader, Pioneer, Lyla is drawn into a dangerous situation when she begins to question Pioneer’s prophecy about the impending apocalypse.

Angie Smibert‘s The Meme Plague (2013), to Marshall Cavendish (World). The last title in the Memento Nora trilogy, wherein a group of teens fight to expose the truth about the city’s mandatory ID program & the ID chips’ ability to implant false memories.

*****
TV DEAL

Rights to Karin Slaughter‘s Grant County series sold. To go into development immediately, with the author co-writing the pilot script. Tez Says: Lena Adams is a plum role – not the lead character, but the one with all the fascinating, screwed-up plotlines.

3 responses to “7 New Deals (Barnes, Grant, Johnson, Meding, Parker, Smibert, Slaughter)

  1. Sounds like some good stuff coming down the pipeline. Thanks for keeping on top of these!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.