[REVIEW] Working for the Devil – Lilith Saintcrow

Lilith Saintcrow
Working for the Devil (Dante Valentine, Book 1)
Hachette Orbit (US: 1st September 2007; UK: 1st June 2006; AU: July 2008)
Buy

Lilith Saintcrow takes urban fantasy to the future in Working for the Devil.

Dante Valentine is a Necromance contracted by Lucifer himself to fetch “the Egg”. If Danny succeeds, she’ll be financially set for life…but if she fails, she’ll die. Lucifer sends demon Japhrimel along with Danny for protection, and she’ll need help facing Vardimal Santino. The setting shifts from Saint City to Nuevo Rio for a riveting investigation.

Before reading, I’d only known this was urban fantasy, so I was pleasantly surprised with the cyberpunk elements. Unsure of how science fiction and fantasy would meld, it’s a relief to know the author has a deft hand, not to mention an inventive brain. Indeed, Nuevo Rio and science set this book apart from others, lifting it clearly above. Chapter 36 is an absolute ripper, a cracker of a read well deserving of much applause, respect and admiration. To explain more would spoil the revelations, but if this first installment is any sign, this series could well be one of the finest urban fantasy works ever.

2 responses to “[REVIEW] Working for the Devil – Lilith Saintcrow

  1. Yay! I love this series. I was a little worried about how I would like the Jill Kismet series after reading these, but was surprised that it was different enough even for me. I thought no one could compare to Dante!

  2. I just read this one myself. I quite liked it, but not as much as you. (Maybe because I guessed one of the twists and it made me sad.)

Leave a Reply

