[REVIEW] Blood Lines – Tanya Huff

Tanya Huff
Blood Lines (Vicki Nelson, Book 3)
Penguin Daw (25th September 2007); Hachette Orbit (4th November 2004)
Buy

True horror is real life, as evident in this third instalment of the Vicki Nelson series.

The staff members of the Royal Ontario Museum are thrilled to receive a mummy – only they report it as an empty sarcophagus and nothing more when the mummy disappears. But two mysterious deaths at the museum catch the eye of homicide detective Mike Celluci, private investigator Vicki Nelson and vampire Henry Fitzroy. Each time the mummy acquires a new soul for strength, the victims instantly die.

Like the other novels in this series, there is no mystery as the culprit is well and truly revealed to readers early on. It says a lot that the most horrific thing is that resembling the closest to real life: Vicki’s experience in a Special Needs prison. Kind of makes you wonder that so-called ‘horror’ fiction is really something to distract readers from the true horror of life. That the author included this part is well worth applauding, because social commentary in urban fantasy (whether intended or not) often seems strangely absent.

I particularly love the setting. So many books in the genre are American-based, which gets a bit same-old after a while, so Canada is a welcome change. From the Royal Ontario Museum to the CN Tower, Toronto is a city I’d love to read more about. And the mummy is unusual subject matter that will appeal to readers who are bored with vampires (and Henry, for that matter).

5 responses to “[REVIEW] Blood Lines – Tanya Huff

  1. Hi Tez

    Great review. You have me thoroughly curious now…

    I used this review as a jumping off point for a post on Urban Fantasy Fan – hope that’s OK – nothing derogatory don’t worry! πŸ™‚

    I’ll be checking your blog regularly now that I’ve found it – thanks!

    A fellow Aussie writer/reader (but stranded in Los Strangeles, CA!)

  2. Thanks for visiting and commenting – you’re always welcome πŸ™‚ Yep, I just saw your post at UFF, and while I thought I’d be told all the reasons why I’m wrong, reading your post came as a relief. I inspire thoughts in others! That’s rare and oddly hilarious, but I have an odd humour πŸ˜‰

    Ooh, what state/territory are you from, may I ask?

    See you around, and have a lovely day! πŸ™‚

  3. Born Sydney, NSW but I call Perth, WA home (long story). Howzabout yourself?

    (Oh yeah and I’m a chronic nightowl so you’ll see me on Twitter long after most Angelinos have hit the sack here. I’d say it’s leftover homesickness but I was a chronic nightowl in Oz too. :D)

    Catch ya later! (or sooner, whatever!)

  4. Born, raised and still live in Melbourne. Music, comedy, sport, coffee, and legalised brothels – what more could you want? πŸ˜‰

    So what’s a nice Aussie girl doing in the US? Canada’s my spiritual home πŸ˜‰

    Have a lovely day! πŸ™‚

  5. I’m going to direct-Twitter you to answer… (thanks for following!)

Leave a Reply

