[REVIEW] Boys that Bite – Mari Mancusi

Mari Mancusi
Boys that Bite
Penguin Berkley Jam (4th April 2006)
Buy

It’s a teen vampire tale with an Arthurian twist in this first outing of Mari Mancusi’s series starring twins Sunny and Rayne McDonald.

Rayne’s into Goth stuff and wants to become a vampire – seriously. She’s even writing a blog tracking her progress as she studies to earn her certification. Everything’s arranged for vampire Magnus to bite her, but in a case of mistaken identity Rayne’s identical twin Sunny is bitten instead. But this isn’t the end of Sunny’s human life – the bite can be reversed by drinking Jesus’ blood from the Holy Grail. Magnus was one of the Knights of King Arthur’s Round Table, and Avalon is now Glastonbury, but at the time of the major music festival, the druids with the Grail go into hiding. The race is on…

There are constant pop culture references, and everyone seems to resemble a celebrity. This may help put the characters in the mind’s eye, but it’s really distracting and annoying. And though this version of vampirism has a twist (it can be changed), the novel overall seems somehow lacking in originality. However, I’ve still got my eye on the author’s novels for adults…

9 responses to “[REVIEW] Boys that Bite – Mari Mancusi

  1. These are a fun group of books. My ten year old adored them (and has reread them several times, in fact!) They also inspired her to start writing her own vampire book. (Eek!)

  2. Ooh, thanks for visiting, Robin. I haven’t met you before, but you’re welcome anytime, and I’ll definitely stop by your website soon.

    Hmm, considering I’m 21, that could be a reason why I didn’t enjoy it as much as your 10-year-old did. Don’t get me wrong – it was fun, but I didn’t really connect with it. Still, if I get my hands on Books 2 and 3 in the series, I’d happily read them – it was great to read in front of the footy on TV on Saturday night.

    Have a lovely day! πŸ™‚

  3. I’m going on 37 and I really liked this book. It was a fun twist on the contemporary/history of vampires, and mixing it in with young adult themes. So I don’t believe that it’s only appealing to Young Adults.

    That’s why I’m glad that the paranormal/urban fantasy genres have blasted off and there’s a ton of books out there now for everyone with different likes and dislikes.

    Cheers!
    Judi – Sidhe Vicious

  4. I read this one. I agree, this is more of a younger crowd-only read, and maybe I’ll like her adult books more. This one had too many characters that fit into a mold – goth girl, blonde girl obssessed with prom, young looking vampire who loves blonde girl no matter what and me saying: ‘why do you like her? why?’

  5. My sister and her classmates absolutely love this series. Sadly enough, for now there will only be the three books thanks to one of the big box stores and their decision not to stock copies. Yeah, sucks!

    I love her adult stuff and have started buying those for my sisters as well.

  6. I really want Moongazer and Razor Girl. Undecided on her other adult novels.

    Have a lovely day! πŸ™‚

  7. That’s why, dear Judi, you’re still with urban fantasy, while futuristics excite me more πŸ˜‰

    Have a lovely day! πŸ™‚

  8. thebizarrelibrary

    I could not connect with the main character. The dialog and tone of the book did not seemed it was meant for adults.

  9. Welcome, Bizarre Library. And you’re right, it wasn’t meant for adults – it’s for young adults. Which makes sense why you and I couldn’t connect with it. Still, since Judi really got into it, I’d say it has nothing to do with age and everything to do with personality. I’m cynical, sceptical and unimpressed until proven impressed – it’s not the ideal way to be, but it works for me πŸ˜‰

    Have a lovely day! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

