[REVIEW] Bound to Love Her – Esri Rose

Esri Rose
Bound to Love Her (Elves Among Us, Book 1)
Kensington Zebra (1st May 2008)
Buy

By the title and brooding torso on the cover, you’d assume this is a bondage romance. Actually, it’s a light paranormal romance. Kensington, what were you thinking?

I’ve never read/seen The Lord of the Rings and whatnot, so this was my introduction to elves. The ones living in Boulder, Colorado, don’t all have pointed ears, though Galan of Longtail Rock does. Basically, the elves have close ties to the land, and they each have their own territory. This opens the way for social commentary involving the environment and real estate, so at least this novel has something to say – which a lot of stories don’t.

A New Age (read: hippie) shop employee, Erin Chandler finds Galan near death, attacked by the big baddie, Fellseth, who’s nicked his land. Somehow giving him her ‘energy’, Erin saves Galan, but the action has somehow bonded them.

Why do sparky women chase so-so men? Erin has an entertaining voice, though I dislike her stance on some issues. (“I personally believe depression is fifty percent nutrition and fifty percent mental habits.” Bitch – what about crap genetics?) Galan may be good at making jewellery, but other than that he doesn’t seem to have much going for him. Thus whatever Erin feels for him seems mostly superficial. His sense of humour only involves sex jokes, thus his comedy needs more variety. Is it any wonder that my favourite character is Kitty Girl? Erin’s cat, abandoned whilst her owner is captured, somewhat appeals to me, but maybe that’s because I’m a cat owner.

It’s easy reading, but not really my kind of thing. Fans of Tate Hallaway’s novels should enjoy this. However, the author is a nifty person, so I’ll still be reading her blog.

2 responses to “[REVIEW] Bound to Love Her – Esri Rose

  1. Thanks for reading and reviewing it Tez! I have no problem that it’s not your cup of tea. And yes, I forgot about genetics, since that’s apparently not part of my person equation. Shame on me. Should have rejiggered my percentages to thirds or something.

    Can you remember what gave you the impression that not all my elves have pointed ears? They do.

  2. You want me to think? You’re making me use my brain? Bad Esri; go sit in the naughty corner! πŸ˜‰

    According to my shoddy memory, pointed ears of elves is a genetic thing – both parents have to have it in order for you to inherit it. Thus part-elves don’t.

    Eek, thinking makes my brain hurt; I better lie down πŸ˜‰

    Thanks for everything, and have a lovely day! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

