[REVIEW] Personal Demon – Kelley Armstrong

Kelley Armstrong
Personal Demon (Women of the Otherworld, Book 8)
Random House (25th March 2008)
Buy

In 2003 I read my first urban fantasy: Kelley Armstrong’s Bitten. Thus reading her consequent novels is somewhat sentimental for me.

When half-demon and tabloid journalist Hope Adams goes undercover in a supernatural gang as a rich socialite, the story is enjoyable enough but hardly something to gobble up. However, the real action begins halfway through the novel with the mention of a panic room.

But as the bodies piled up, I didn’t feel completely satisfied; had that ‘good but not great’ feeling. But about thirty pages from the end was an idea that gobsmacked me with its brilliance and sheer originality. More than a few readers will rush to re-read Stolen, the second book in the series. It really justifies the author as my favourite.

I wish I could say that I was pleased at the novel’s conclusion, but I wasn’t. Something else happened that really made me think, if this is true, then the author will set a new benchmark that other writers could only dream of reaching. But instead, what a freaking copout. If you who know what I’m talking about, please email me privately as I’d like to know if I’m alone with that feeling.

4 responses to “[REVIEW] Personal Demon – Kelley Armstrong

  1. Oh sigh, i’m dying to know what you’re talking about but I only read Bitten! And the start of her other series with Exit Strategy. Damn, another series to catch up on!

  2. I read Stolen back in 2004, I think, and I was surprised that I really didn’t remember much of it. But yes, I would recommend reading Stolen before Personal Demon. I own Exit Strategy, but haven’t got around to reading it yet – I’m currently working on library books, of which Personal Demon was one.

    Thanks for everything, and have a lovely day! 🙂

  3. Did you read Dates From Hell? Is Hope the same character from Armstrong’s story?

    I’ve got both Stolen and Personal Demon – I need to catch up on my reading!

    BTW, I changed the link. 🙂

  4. Yep, same Hope from Dates from Hell. And your link’s on my right sidebar, under the heading REVIEWERS.

    Thanks for everything, and have a lovely day! 🙂

Leave a Reply

