[REVIEW] Blood Noir – Laurell K. Hamilton

Laurell K. Hamilton
Blood Noir (Anita Blake, Book 15)
Orbit (27th May 2008)
Buy

You can outline a story beforehand or write it by the seat of your pants. It’s clear the author wrote Blood Noir the latter way, and not just because I know the backstory. Like Micah, this was originally going to be a novella, until something more developed. And it shows. Not only that, but I would’ve really enjoyed this had it been a novella and not this.

Jason Schuyler has never got along with his father, who is now dying of cancer. But now he has to go home to Asheville and say goodbye. And he’s traumatised enough that he’s bringing Anita Blake with him.

The story gets a little Sweet Valley when it becomes evident that most of the town’s people look a lot like one another. (Visit the 1BRUCE1 LiveJournal community to learn that while Jessica and Elizabeth Wakefield are identical twins, they also look like their mother, their cousin, and the “evil twins” Margo and Nora. And Steven Wakefield keeps seeing females who look like his dead girlfriend Tricia Martin.) The eerie truth is that they all descend from resident man-whore Jebediah Summerland (who shares a surname with an axed TV series starring Lori Loughlin, Jesse McCartney and Ryan Kwanten – which pulled me out of the story to giggle every time the surname is mentioned). So there’s obviously been incest going on, though the I-word isn’t used.

The relationships between Jason, Anita, the Schuylers and the Summerlands’ various guards and spin doctors is really quite interesting – sometimes it’s understandable why the author is a bestseller. But as the plot with Marmee Noir unfolds, it becomes somewhat tedious when werewolf Ulfric Richard and his people show up.

Yet it brought up an intriguing situation when Anita learns that sex has consequences. But she only seems concerned with possible pregnancy, and doesn’t even think about sexually transmitted diseases. Are metaphysical creatures/people permanently clean? How did Anita get all those powers and the different animals to call? That all this wasn’t considered left me feeling somewhat stale.

11 responses to “[REVIEW] Blood Noir – Laurell K. Hamilton

  1. I’ve quit reading LKH. I wish she wrote this while she was on top of her game because Jason was my favorite character.

  2. “sometimes it’s understandable why the author is a bestseller” – lol, best backhanded compliment ever!

  3. Maybe you could get it from the library, Liv, because I really did like reading the Jason storyline.

    Thank you, Nome πŸ˜‰

    Have a lovely day! πŸ™‚

  4. I don’t care what anyone says, I still like her.

  5. I probably can, after the first rush.

  6. hehe, love your reviews Tez!

    I always thought Anita didn’t think of STDs, since the guys she sleeps with can’t get any diseases. I’d be more worried about how she doesn’t usually take showers and still has multiple partners.

  7. Quite frankly I think that ‘no STDs’ thing is a copout just to give them reason to have comdomless sex.

    Ooh, I didn’t know you had a blog! I’ll add a link to my site this afternoon.

    Thanks for everything, and have a lovely day! πŸ™‚

  8. The review was a good start. However, whether the lycanthropes-can’t-get-STDs thing was a copout or not, it’s still been a fact of the book for a long time. And in a way it makes sense, since they never get sick any other way. Now, if she really wanted to get back on track, she could do a story where Anita has to use her brain and not her happy place to figure out who’s created a disease or something that infects/kills lycanthropes and/or vampires. That might help us clean out that bed of hers, as well as helping us figure out who’s who again. Cause they’re all starting to sound the same. Hey! Here’s a thought: maybe we’ll actually get to see some of those powers she’s gained while she’s been screwing so many ppl and neglecting her work. Don’t get me wrong, i’m a big fan, but after the Harlequin took what felt like one step forward, this one takes two or maybe even three steps back. I’ll let you know once I’ve read it. πŸ˜‰

  9. I’ve read all of the LKH books and i have to say this was the worst. I had to keep flicking through the book as i was getting bored with all the sex. I normally like her books but i really think i’m going to stop wasting my money buying them. There was very little story line and all the things that i came to like about the series were missing from this book. Its a shame but the book was definitly a let down.
    Maybe she can pull the next one together.

  10. Ooh, haven’t seen you here before. Welcome to my blog πŸ™‚

    Have a lovely day! πŸ™‚

  11. ugh! I HATED this book! I was so disspaointed it wasn’t even funny. I even wasted the money to buy hardcover when it first came out… I had to force myself to finish it, all sex and no action, and not even good sex… horid. two thumbs wayyy down… And I was truly bummed because I loved the first part of the series

Leave a Reply

