[REVIEW] Once Bitten, Twice Shy – Jennifer Rardin

Jennifer Rardin
Once Bitten, Twice Shy (Jaz Parks, Book 1)
Orbit (18th October 2007)
Buy

An urban fantasy featuring the CIA and a sense of humour – this novel shares things in common with my writing work-in-progress, so I wasn’t all that comfortable reading this at first. However, as our differences piled up, I settled in just fine.

But at times Jaz Parks seems so much like me (not just my characters, but me) that it’s scary. Minus that she’s American, works for the government and kicks arse: our “voice”, humour, mannerisms and coping mechanisms are so similar that reading essentially a fictionalised version of yours truly was off-putting.

When a joke isn’t shoved into every paragraph (ie. When the humour isn’t overpowering the story), the novel is quite interesting. Indeed, Chapter Twenty is memorable, so keep your eye out for that. But as the plot got more outlandish with out-of-body experiences, I couldn’t easily picture the scenes in my mind’s eye and thus my attention somewhat waned. But Jennifer Rardin is an author to watch, and I’m already reading Book 2 in the series.

3 responses to “[REVIEW] Once Bitten, Twice Shy – Jennifer Rardin

  1. Hmm, I keep seeing good reviews for this. I guess I have to pick it up.

  2. Pingback: Once Bitten, Twice Shy by Jennifer Rardin « Janicu’s Book Blog

  3. Pingback: Review: Once Bitten, Twice Shy by Jennifer Rardin (2007) « Birdbrain(ed) Book Blog

Leave a Reply

